The genre effect….

An observation has occurred to me of late while scrolling through the library of games on my Xbox One, My list of genres appears to have dwindled…

As a kid I would love playing just about anything and everything (bar sports games, go kick a ball outside or something…) From platformers to point and clicks, Racing to fighting it was all fair game as long as it had some enjoyability.

As I’ve aged though my tastes appear to have changed, to the point now where I tend to stick to three or four genres, I’d like to say this is down to the industry churning out the same few triple A games each year but it’s not, my focus has shifted I get less excited by certain projects etc.

This isn’t to say I don’t enjoy all those games but predominantly my library consists of shooters, racers and puzzle games.

I’ve pondered the reasoning behind this and it would seem that subconsciously I’m playing these games mostly due to the fact that they offer the most play time, I never made this decision. It has been made for me. It appears to be a part of the aging process and being more aware of a few things….

The time I have to play…

The money I have to spend…

The amount of game I can get for that money…

These three things seem to combine deep in my mind to make choices for me when ordering games.

I’ll still play other genres and actually some of my best experiences of the last 12 months have been from games like Inside for example. However I tend to now wait for these games to drop in price or pop up in deals before purchasing.

It’s an unusual analysis and one I hope doesn’t become worse the older I get…..

Author: killswitchmad

A gamer that despite getting older has never lost the passion. These are the chronicles of an aging gamer as he battles his depreciating body and mind to keep his passion in check.

Leave a comment